Goals for 2014

I really only have two personal goals for 2014.  One I want to read 52 books, and two I want to hit my new target weight of 185.  I also have one professional goal: create a program.

Read more Books

Based on my Goodreads stats I’ve read 28 books in 2013.  This is down from 30 in 2012 and 47 in 2011.  So I’m planning on pushing myself to read 52 books, or roughly a book a week.  I’ve got quite a few on my shelf to read, because even though I only read 30 books, I purchased a whole lot more.  A brief glimpse of the books I’ll be reading:

  • Zealot by Reza Azlan
  • The Consuming Instinct by Gad Saad
  • Survival of the Prettiest by Nancy Etcoff
  • Drive by Daniel Pink
  • Quiet by Susan Cain
  • Just Babies by Paul Bloom

Not to mention I’m going to catch up on the multiple Robert Parker Series, Kathy Reichs, John Sanford, Robert Crais, and of course my Star Trek books.  I just need to make sure I read more than I purchase this year. Yeah, like that will happen. I currently own close to 850 books, Based on my purchasing history, I’ll hit 1000 books in 2016.  I need to purchase a house by then.

Get in Better Shape

2013 will be remembered by me as my big turning point.  It was the year I was diagnosed with Diabetes, the year I quit drinking, the year I tried (only tried for now) to become gluten-free.  I hit my target weight of 199, so now I’m aiming for 185 (a pretty good UFC weight class).  Part of me wants to set myself some crazy goal like, try out for American Ninja Warrior, and depending on how much I progress in 2014, I still might.

I started to get more serious about my eating in the last 3 months, but I still have a ways to go before I’d consider myself eating healthy.  I need to cut out red meat, go full gluten-free, and seriously make pizza a once-every-two-months treat instead of a comfort-food-when-I’m-depressed meal.

My biggest roadblock is that I need to get pumped about cooking.  I get home and the last thing I want to do is spend 30+ minutes prepping and cooking a meal.  Once I overcome that hurdle, there will be no stopping me.

Professional Life

I’ve learned quite a bit about databases this year.  My goal for 2014 is to create my own simple program.  I’ve got an idea for a simple asset-tracking program.  I’m learning PHP right now and hopefully by summer I can create this program and see how it works.  I just really want to see if I can do it.

So that’s my look forward to the coming year.  We’ll see how I do.  In the years that I’ve been writing these down, and publishing them I have to say I do try harder to achieve them, and I while I may not hit every goal, having something to aspire to really helps.

Hope everyone has a great 2014!

Leave a Reply

