2013 In Review

I always like to review the year and the goals I set for myself personally.  Here’s what I’d hoped to accomplish for 2013 and I have to say, I didn’t do too badly, though I can’t take credit for everything that went my way.

Health Goals: good news and bad news

I did quit drinking and I finally hit that goal weight I’d set for myself back in 2012.  I now weigh 199 and have gone down another belt size.  I haven’t had a drink in 3 months.  Now the reason for this is that I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes.  That forced me to change my eating habits and workout a bit more.  I also no longer suffer from acid reflux.  I haven’t gone back to the doctor yet to see how my sugar levels are, we’ll see what she says in January.  Hopefully I’ve got it under control and won’t need insulin shots or anything like that.

I have to say quitting drinking is incredibly hard and if it weren’t for the fact that my pills explicitly say I could potentially die, I probably wouldn’t have quit.  I really miss bourbon.

Level up professionally

I discovered this year that I actually can do pretty much anything I set my mind to.  I’ve talked myself up and bragged about how good I am at times, but this year I actually was tested.  We had a fire last year around Thanksgiving at my work.  We lost our server and the ability to do orders and run reports.  This is the type of emergency situation that I’m apparently built for.

I created my own reorder system using spreadsheets.  I would periodically download our reorder points to bump them up against sales, and thank science I did!  I used these reorder points to construct a system where we would download stock counts from the individual stores, use some excel magic and voila!, purchase orders.

I then found a way to get new items entered into our store’s systems (because before we’d enter them into the server and broadcast that data).  I was quite proud of that day.

Then I focused on getting our new system up and running.  A little history, we’d been trying to get a new point of sale system implemented for about 3-4 years.  No one believed we were ever going to actually have it.  In fact, I spoke with a manager in June who said, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”  To which I responded, with nothing but ego (I am kind of arrogant), “It was never implemented before because I never made it a priority.  Now it’s my priority and it’s going to get done.”  He probably still didn’t believe me.

The first store went live in either late August or early September.  By the one year anniversary of the fire all stores were live.  I didn’t do it alone, I had help. Had we not hired Nick as a backup IT guy, it definitely wouldn’t have been implemented. But, and no one would disagree with this statement, if I hadn’t taken over the project we still wouldn’t have the new system up and running.

I taught myself SQL to help with the implementation.  Our biggest setback was that data wasn’t correct in the database due to how it was converted.  So someone needed to learn how to do it, and I did.  I’ve also taught myself how to write batch files and do automated processes.

That project, and all that I’ve done since our fire, have shown me that I can do nearly anything.  I figured out how to put everyone in the right places so we could get this project done, and we did it.  Learning SQL was an amazing experience.  Now I understand how our database is put together and how the program uses queries to get us data.  That is an invaluable bit of knowledge.

Personal life: still no girlfriend

There’s not much more to say to that.  I haven’t been celibate, but I haven’t found anyone who is what I’m looking for.  At least not one who’s single.  I meet a decent amount of girls who are smart, nerdy, into the same movies, books, etc, but they’re married or dating.  Not cool world!

2013: I think I liked you

I’ll post on New Year’s Day my goals for 2014.  It’s been a pretty good year when I think about it.  I’ve always been so invested in my mental abilities that the challenges I’ve faced this year have really been satisfying.  I love learning and discovering new things, and in that respect 2013 has been fantastic!  Sure I found out I have diabetes, but I lost weight, am eating healthier, and I have affordable health insurance!

I look forward to what 2014 holds!

Leave a Reply

