Goals for 2012

It’s a brand new year and that means it’s Resolution Time.  I normally set a few goals every year (I call them this because I’m weird and like things that sound more like an action item list) and this time I thought I’d share them.  Also, setting them down means I can see my success rate at the end of the year (here’s hoping for 25%!)

Write more

I enjoy writing.  I love researching arguments and learning new things.  When I write down what I’m thinking it helps solidify the research in my mind.  It’s kind of like taking notes or doing a research paper for college.  I’m a nerd, but I miss that.

My goal: 2 posts a week.  1 post here and 1 post on my Business blog.

Continue to lose weight

In the last 3 years I’ve lost quite a bit of weight.  When I started seriously working out I was north of 245 (I didn’t weigh myself till after working out for a month.) I’m now 215.  I used to wear size 38 (which fit snugly) and now wear size 34 (which fit well).  I’ve never regained any weight.  I can honestly (and sadly) say that I’m in the best shape of my life.  I can lift, bench, & curl more than I’ve ever been able.  I can do more push-ups and pull-ups than ever in my life!  It’s really quite cool.  I still eat horribly.  I eat pizza way more than anyone seeking to lose weight should.  This year, I’m going to try to keep up the good work, but increase my healthy eating.

Goal: reach target weight of 199.

Get out more

I’m not a social person.  I don’t like hanging out in big (or even small) groups of people.  I do, however, enjoy going places.  I love watching a movie at Alamo Drafthouse.  I love watching plays, ballet, and Opera.  I love live music and clubs.  I love live stand-up comedy.  All these things are part of what makes Austin amazing.

So why aren’t I doing more of them.

Goal: 6 movies at Alamo (lncl. 2 special shows).  1 play. 2 stand-up shows. 2 live music events.  Also, at least 4 weekends out.  (This may seem like very little, but achievable goals are important)

Start dating

I’ve been single for way too long.  Mind you, I’ve not been celibate, but I haven’t been in a relationship in a long time.  I want that.  I want to have someone to go do things with, or stay at home with.  I’m also getting older so at some point kids would be nice (and not the accidental kind).  This means that I need to get out and meet people.  Problem: I hate people, have I mentioned that before.  Later I’ll probably post what I’m looking for in a woman, and you’ll see why I’m having a hard time meeting the right woman.

goal: go on 2 dates this year.

This is a nice start, and I’ll probably come up with more goals as the month progresses.  We’ll also see how I do in fulfilling them.  Some can even help the others out (e.g. dating could lead to more movies).

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2012

Leave a Reply

