Merry Christmas v. Happy Holidays

It’s the holidays again, and of course it’s time again for the ridiculous belief that there’s a war on Christmas.  Just because someone says, “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” doesn’t mean you’re being persecuted. 

Read the following sentence: When people say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” I feel that they’re not respecting my religious beliefs.

Ok, now read this one: When people say “Merry Christmas” instead of “Happy Holidays” I feel that they’re not respecting my religious beliefs.

The problem with people who are offended by things, is that they only look at the world ego-centrically.  Other people have the same feelings and beliefs as you, but about different things. 

I’m really liberal, there are people who are really conservative.  We both whole-heartedly believe we’re right.  Occasionally one of us will be.  That’s the way life goes.  No one is always right, no one is always wrong.  They’re right about some things, we’re right about others.  It helps to remember this.

When it comes to the silly outrage about “Happy Holidays” *(Heck, Holiday is from the Middle English for Holy Day) realize that not everyone is like you.  Political Correctness isn’t the evil thing everyone makes it out to be.  Imagine you’re in a car with me and I’m playing country music or gangsta rap (both of which are possible with me), and you absolutely hate that type of music.  If I know that you hate it, and I still play it, then I’m a dick.  You see I know that both those types of music are polarizing, so I wouldn’t play those if I was trying to appeal to a broad number of people.    It’s why target doesn’t play death metal over it’s load speakers, greet people with “’sup bitches!” and why businesses use Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas.

I know Christians don’t like to believe this but the U.S. is comprised of many different religions.  We’re predominantly protestant, but there are Catholics, Muslims, Jews and many others.  To say Merry Christmas leaves out many other religions.  I know you think yours is the most important, but so do they.  And remember the second sentence I wrote above. 

So why not enjoy this Holiday and forget about perceived slights.  If I’m right, this is the only life we’ve got.  It’s too short to waste being offended or letting people work you up over nothing.

So, Merry Christmas, or whatever you celebrate (or don’t).

Leave a Reply

