We need an Apocalypse Holiday

There was a really small minority of people (who, as per usual were vocal and covered by the media) who believed the world was going to end this past weekend (May 21st @ 6pm).  Obviously that didn’t happen.  Though what if it did?  What regrets would you have?

This is why I think we need an Apocalypse Holiday, or call it Bucket List Day.  A national holiday (or one of those many pseudo-holidays that you always find online like “Talk Like a Pirate Day”) where we each do one thing off our bucket list.  I’ve decided to make my bucket list day the 2nd weekend in November.  I’m going to try and make a trip to either New York or Boston around that time.  I’ve visited New York (it was back in 1999) and have always wanted to go back.  Boston is one of those places I’ve read about and would like to see in real life (I want to take a Spenser’s Boston tour).

I think we should all do this.  Everyone should, every year, pick one day and do one thing off your bucket list.  The world didn’t end on May 21st, but for many people the world over it probably was their last day on Earth.  You could die tomorrow, I could die before November, and there is still so much to do and see.  The problem with waiting for tomorrow is, what if tomorrow never comes?

Leave a Reply

